Worried

My doctor called me today.  Randomly.  To you know, chat, I guess? 

We briefly touched on the fact that out of 9 embryos, we only ended up with 1.  Yes, it was normal, but we lost 8.  I asked her, “what do we do to get more than 1 blast on day 5?”

Apparently, that is a million (or is it billion?) dollar question?

She said there are “some tweaks she can do to my medicines,”  however she is hoping that I was having an “off month, egg/ovary wise” during my first IVF, and that this isn’t an egg quality issue.

Egg. Quality. Issue.  😦

Tweaks and off months aside, I’m still struggling with my less than stellar (understatement) first IVF, and now I don’t have much confidence moving forward. 

I know so many people with multiple embryos on ice, and at this point, I’m just so envious. I keep thinking, why? not? me?  Why is this so hard for me?

One thought on “Worried

  1. Ugh. I’m so sorry you’ve had such a rough time of it. I’ve been thinking about you and just praying this next round of stims will be much easier on you with much better results. I think there’s totally a possibility you could get a much better group of eggs next time. After all, she didn’t say you definitely have an egg quality issue. She just said she hopes you don’t, right? So don’t read too much into it just yet. Keep your chin up and try to find a way to keep the hope alive. I will be thinking of you and praying you have a better second round of stims.

Comments are closed.