180 Degrees

In a complete 180, we have decided to and are now prepping for a frozen transfer in June.

There are a lot of life ducks that must be lined up so we can take this next step.  Like scheduling time off our jobs, lying to our families (we are keeping this quiet), pushing for the best transfer doctor, and fitting in a vacation prior, those types of things.  The physical plan is just Estrace and PIO (and Lovenox, always Lovenox).  Oh and an Endometrial biopsy that I significantly advocated for.

I belong to an online PGD group and we’ve seen numerous women transfer chromosomally normal embryos but end up with a negative beta.  Testing after (via an endometrial biopsy) indicated inflammation and other issues that may have affected implantation. Our group is now questioning why an EB isn’t routinely done prior to a transfer?

I was prepared to go a few rounds with my doctor about this, and in fact, started my campaign, dressed in a hospital gown, just 10 minutes prior to my last egg retrieval.   Her initial response was “I see no indication this won’t work for you without an EB.”  I quietly told her “I know many women with chromosomally normal embryos who, it didn’t work for. And since I only have 1 embryo, I can’t be so cavalier with it.”  I followed this up with an e-mail, respectfully requesting we rule out as much as we can prior to a transfer. Like the rockstar that she is,  she promptly scheduled the EB for me.  Next Thursday.  Damn.  No time to mentally prep.  A clear cut case of you get what you argue for, huh?  At least I still have pain killers leftover from my first ER.

So, the next question is, are there any other tests or protocols I should be inquiring about?

4 thoughts on “180 Degrees

  1. So glad you have a plan in place and get to have the test that you wanted. Since my 2nd IVF was interrupted by uteran polyps and a hysteroscopy between ER and ET, I requested a saline sonogram before I began IVF #3 and sure enough there was a polyp back again. My gut told me there would be something and there was. Does the Endometrial biopsy allow for a good look at the uterus. Just something I was glad I did. Good luck!!

  2. What kills me is why are WE the ones who have to request testing? I hate hearing there might have been other things we could have tried, AFTER the fact! Bravo for pushing and winning the arguement!

  3. Way to advocate for yourself! I’m glad your doctor didn’t fight you. I never made it to transfer (cycle cancelled after 6 days of stimming due to poor follicle response), so I don’t have much advice, but it seems that a saline sonogram may be a good idea (it was standard procedure in my RE’s office to have that done before we even started meds). I hope you are able to get all your “life ducks” (I love that;) in a row as quickly as possible and that things go smoothly before your transfer in June.

Comments are closed.