Sweet Relief

Oh sweet relief.  We saw and heard our little guys heartbeat yesterday.  He is right on track for his gestational age and the MFM said the sac looked “textbook perfect.”

It’s about fucking time that something was textbook perfect.

Since this is my first rodeo, I found this chart helpful in understanding the proper heartbeat ranges based on gestational age:

Age Normal Fetal Heart Rate
5 Weeks (Beginning) 80-85 bpm
5 Weeks starts at 80 and ends at 103 bpm
6 Weeks starts at 103 and ends at 126 bpm
7 Weeks starts at 126 and ends at 149 bpm
8 Weeks starts at 149 and ends at 172 bpm
9 Weeks 155-195 bpm (average 175 bpm)
12 Weeks 120-180 bpm (average 150 bpm)

Prior to my MFM appointment, I had Anti-Xa bloodwork done at the hospital.  This is a timed test that is used to determine if the blood is thin enough while on Lovenox.  The results were back within the hour and we learned my blood is a tad too thick.  My hematologist is increasing my dosage of Lovenox from 40mg to 60mg.  I must admit,  this conversation brought me to tears, tears of relief that I (finally) have the right doctors who will monitor my issues.   It gives me some hope for this pregnancy.

Also, as much as I bemoan the issues that make my pregnancy high-risk, we were really impressed by the ultrasound machine at the MFM’s office.  Dare I say they were sex-ay? They really blew my RE’s ultrasound machines away (and those are nothing to sneeze at either.)   We also straightened out my monitoring and ultrasound schedule for the next 15 weeks or so and now we can can schedule some things we’ve been holding off on.  So while being a clotting nightmare is no prize winner, there will be many appointments, and the constant reassurance during this pregnancy is welcome.

11 thoughts on “Sweet Relief

  1. This is wonderful! I am so happy for you! So glad you’re getting the attention you deserve and not just “a number”.

  2. Congrats on the heartbeat! What a wonderful sound it is! So happy that you have great doctors you are working with that know what they are doing!

  3. Thanks for sharing. I didn’t realize that they had such a test. Do they only perform it at certain weeks or is this something that can be done at 8 weeks?

    • The test can be done anytime, even if you are not pregnant, in fact. I was only 6w4d and I had it done. I am going to push for monthly re-checks too. The only criteria is that you have the blood drawn 4 hours after you do your Lovenox shot and that not all labs do the test. I had to go to the hospital and spend an hour waiting. It was worth it though. I would love love to see this type of test help you finally make some progress.

      • See I am always 40 out of the gate and I only have one major clotting disorder. This last time I did 40 x a day..and still miscarried but I would love to know it is working plus I don’t want to overkill on the Lovenox if I don’t have too. Thank you 😉 xo

      • My hematologist told me that 40mg x 4 would be a “significant” dosage so 40mg is nothing. I am trying to remember which clotting disorder you have. I will go poke around your blog. Edited to add: Ok, so with MTHFR any chance you were sucking down l-methylfolate?

  4. Woohoo! Textbook perfect sounds awfully good to me! So happy you have a healthy little guy in there. Congratulations!

  5. Congrats again Taylor! Just keep hitting these milestones and before you know it your little bean will be your baby!

  6. That is awesome awesome news!!!!!!!! I am so happy for you!!!! A HUGE CONGRATULTIONS!!!!
    Btw I am cpnA from the other board!

Comments are closed.