What’s Going On

Eating, Nausea, and Pooping (or lack there of). Right now I am eating chicken noodle soup and I am so so grateful. I just spent the last 36 hours in the fetal position (a slight dramatization, but it wasn’t pretty) with “morning” sickness and gas. Yes, gas. Huge crampy, stomachy gas. This morning, I was up at 6am for an ultrasound with the RE and back in bed at 8am. The misery broke at around 11am and I almost feel human again. My doctor asked my husband “what’s wrong with her?” He replied “she’s been sick for 30+ hours?” We also had a delightful discussion about poop. “Why haven’t you pooped?,” she asked? “That’s my question too,” I replied.

Giving Vaginal Progesterone the Finger. The decision was also made to stick to PEO for the next 2.5 weeks and not switch to vaginal progesterone. I hate hate hate vaginal progesterone. My response cannot be normal? I think last time I used it I referred to it as “en fuego crotch” or “fire vag.” I actually prefer PEO and my doctor is a saint.

Another Ultrasound. Our little guy is doing well and right on target. I told my husband this morning that it’s still difficult to believe there is a little person growing inside of me. I suppose it will feel more real as each week passes?

Lovenox Dosage Fiasco. There was a bit of a nightmare with my new Lovenox dosage, including something not so small as Lovenox actually does not make the dosage my doctor prescribed (in a pre-filled syringe). This took 5 plus days to turn around. I am now completely out of Lovenox and the pharmacy has assured me I will get my new dosage before my shot time at 11:30am tomorrow. Ok.

Losing Weight But My Clothes Are Too Tight? Yesterday I was determined to go to work (I made it 4 hours) and swore I could only muster yoga pants. I tried to pair them with a cute, sparkly tunic top and it was a huge fail. The top was tight across my stomach! I am going to be 8 weeks on Friday and I guess this is just, bloat? I’ve lost weight in the first trimester, so I assume my body is just redistributing due to the baby?

Maternity Clothes. My mom and I have been on a maternity clothes hunt, and so far things aren’t going well. They really just don’t make maternity clothes for short girls, everything is just too long, including the shirts. Most of what I found at Motherhood Maternity, Target, and Kohls were just huge on me. I found a few things I liked at The Pea in the Pod, but I cannot justify spending $258 on an everyday dress when I plan to only be pregnant once. I am in the market for a maternity winter coat (we found a few) and 1-2 dressy maternity dresses for events though. I think we’ve just decided to buy two cute pairs of pregnancy jeans, a soft black maternity skirt, and a pair of maternity black trousers and then get a bunch of cute of flowy shirts (in normal sizing) and some plain t-shirts. I will match this look with fun scarves and earrings and call it a day. Also, I will be pregnant in the fall and winter so I can get away with big sweaters and leggings and dresses and tights with boots. Hopefully whatever we buy I can wear after the pregnancy too.

2 thoughts on “What’s Going On

  1. Oh your post made me chuckle! You’re in a roll today! I’m glad the nausea has abated some. Your descriptions of your intereactions with our fave Dr. crack me up. I live that you are shopping for maternity clothes. YES!!

  2. Oh I feel so bad that you feel so bad! I was very bloated at 8 weeks also and having a hard time with clothes. I still am. I started wearing the long shirts with leggins. That is a big help. I am also short and petite, so I swim in ALL the pants. I found one pair of maternity jeans that fit, little long, I rolled them up. I also have been rocking skirts too and that has been a huge savior! Maternity clothese are so expensive and I too don’t want to spend that much on maternity things. Good luck!! I hear so many women say about the constipation.. well I have the opposite since day one. It is taking over my life, making me late for work too. I have all my things in hand and ready to walk out the door and nope, gotta go!. I don’t get much notice when it strikes and it is several times a day. I go into a store and immediatly look for the restroom, just in case! There should be some happy medium for us! So glad your little guy is doing well. Love your blog!

Comments are closed.