IVF #7

IVF #7 started yesterday with Lupron.

I received an actual calendar with my medications and dates on it (6 IVFs behind me, and this is the first time I’ve received a calendar) and my protocol is extremely different than anything we’ve tried before.

Different, in our case is good. Change is good here. And hey, it can’t be worse than 3 cycles where the outcome is 0 embryos.

However, we have very realistic expectations as to the outcome of this cycle. If, by chance, there are any blasts on day 5 or 6, we will be having 24 chromosome genetic screening done on them via Natera in California.

I’ve received oh so many medication boxes in the past 4 years, and was surprised to see the 14 pre-filled syringes of Ganirelix that arrived at my house for this cycle.  I guess I should be grateful this Ganirelix heavy cycle did not take place 2 years ago when there was a shortage of this particular medication.

I have kept fairly detailed accounts of my prior 6 IVFs (dosages, estrogen, follicles and the like), so I am curious how my body will respond to this new medication protocol.

For those of you who are geekily interested, here is approximate overview of my meds calendar:
Days 1-8 – Lupin
Day 9-12 – Ganirelix in the AM
Day 13-16 – Ganirelix in the AM.  225 Follistim and 1 vial of Menopur in the PM.  60mg Lovenox.
Day 17-22 – Ganirelix in the Am.  225 Follistim in the PM. 60mg Lovonox.
Day 23 – HCG Trigger
Day 24 – HCG Trigger
Day 25 – ER

