An Anti-Inflammatory Diet for Infertility

10259325_10152432689699602_7098055327429859716_nAs I gear up for a fall FET, I’ve been slowly working towards following an anti-inflammatory diet. I came to this decision after talking to Dr. Braverman, researching on the internet, and discussing the inflammatory properties of food with the woman in my Reproductive Immunology Support group.

The stress of inflammation has been linked to several infertility diagnosis including PCOS, endometriosis, recurrent miscarriage, poor sperm and egg quality.

The following are things I have been limiting or eliminating from my diet:

Caffeine
Alcohol
Gluten
Dairy
Sugar and Artificial Sweeteners (Aspartame is evil)
Soy
Nitrates
GMO’s

Keep in mind a few things:
1- I am not a doctor
2- Prior to this I generally stuck to mostly organic foods and tried to limit the consumption of GMOs

As a NYC girl whose adores espresso, bourbon (generally not together) and restaurant hopping around the city, this has been quite an adjustment for me. I have no problem giving up gluten, I have done it in the past and I am comfortable creating meals and snacks that work for a gluten limited diet. Having said this, I was tested for celiacs and I do not have it, so my goal is to cook and snack as gluten free as possible, but I will not beat myself up for cross contamination or the occasional mistake.

Saying goodbye to coffee and dairy has been an absolute fight. I love coffee with cream. Not for the caffeine, I’ve learned, but I love the flavor and ritual of coffee. I’ve been working towards drinking decaffeinated coffee (Nespresso or Starbucks) with coconut milk. However, the RI group informed me that even decaffeinated coffee is bad for blood flow issues (one of my problems). Tell me I have to give up cheese for a year and I think OK that’s doable, but take away my coffee and I spiral down in panic.

So what am I eating? That will be answered in the second part of this series of posts. Stay tuned.

10 thoughts on “An Anti-Inflammatory Diet for Infertility

  1. Good luck with the diet. I never drank coffee but giving up soda was super hard for me. I felt sick for about a week. It is totally worth it though!

  2. I followed a similar diet when we moved to IVF. I didn’t give up dairy completely, but I did switch to full-fat organic dairy. I know it could be coincidence, but as soon as I made those dietary changes, I got pregnant. Good luck!

    • I don’t really see it as giving up, but as a more, ends justify the means type approach. I think it’s safe to say I am worlds apart from those woman who can eat junk and get pregnant. Hell, I am also worlds apart from the woman who do 1-3 IVFs to get pregnant too.

  3. I hear you loud and clear, my friend. I just got the Paleo Approach Cookbook (delivered at 9:45 pm which meant I stayed up way too late last night looking at it). I should email you some pages from it. She’s got shopping lists and everything (can you say Type A?) but mostly I find the recipe ideas great. I like it better than my anti-inflammation diet cookbook though that one has some good stuff, too. Good luck, I’m looking forward to your next post!

  4. Can you have herbal tea w/ honey? You wouldn’t have the coffee flavor, but you could still enjoy the ritual of relaxing with a steaming cup of comfort. Blueberry & peach are marvelous. (I like chamomile mint too, but I don’t think that’s recommended w/ anti-coagulants.)

  5. This is always my question: without sugar, soy, dairy, or gluten, what exactly ARE you eating? Air sandwiches on cardboardy gluten-free bread?

Comments are closed.