The Side Effects of Prednisone

images-4There were many alternative titles for this post, including “Crisis Management,” “Zantac Candy,” and “Zombie Girl” or last but not least, “The Wheels are Coming Off.” Nonetheless, I settled with the least witty one out there. I’m tired.

I’ve been struggling with some heavy side effects from Prednisone. Right now I am dealing with significant insomnia (zombie girl), painful acid reflux/stomach issues (zantac candy), and numbness in my fingers. More infrequently, I also have had hot flashes and a rapid heart rate. Incidentally, the one side effect that I have not been blessed with is increased hunger/weight gain.

Yesterday my doctor and I spent 20 minutes (crisis management) plotting ways to combat some of these side effects so I can return to my regular, rational self (the wheels ARE coming off). I was relieved he took my worries to heart. In fact, he said “You have never once complained to me, so I can tell when you are serious.”

Look at that, I am not the girl who cried wolf.

My next FET is on hold for a few weeks. My estrogen is still significantly elevated (at 237) and therefore my body is holding on to an 8.1 lining (a transfer quality lining, not a baseline lining). My body is completely out of whack and my cycle is all off. Just another reason to say a medicated FET is not or me.

My options are to wait it out for a natural bleed or take Provera. Then I can either move into another FET or start Lupron in the luteal phase and roll directly into another egg retrieval. Edited to add: I skipped the Provera and there will be no Lupron with my next FET.

I will be the first to admit that I am currently not in the right headspace to make any important decisions. I have 3 normals on ice, but feed me a failed FET (after years of just trying to get embryos) coupled with very little sleep (zombie girl) and I keep returning to “must. hoard. more. embryos.” I promised myself and my husband that there would be no more egg retrievals come 2015. There has to be an end point to all this madness. But then again, we thought our issue was getting embryos, not implantation.

One thought on “The Side Effects of Prednisone

  1. Yuck. Those side effects are nasty. I get the racing heart and insomnia or disrupted sleep too but not to the extent you are suffering. How many mg? Are you still on it now? Sleep deprivation can make anyone lose her mind. I’m so sorry you’ve been suffering about this. Good plan to wait before making any major life decisions. I would too.

Comments are closed.